I just installed WhatsApp again after not using it for a while (not my choice, I had to). In the setup screen I wanted to go back and pick q different option but it wouldn’t let me. No problem (I thought) I’ll just pop by system settings and give it a full brain wipe.
I go to WhatsApp in system settings and click “clear storage” and instead of doing the usual thing and letting me clear all of the data, that button takes me INTO Whatsapp’s built-in storage manager where I can choose to delete downloaded media or pick disappearing messages. I can’t seem to stop this behavior and actually do a full wipe of the app.
I can’t seem to find the API that they’re using or any way to work around this. Does anyone know how to prevent this from happening? Bonus question: does anybody know what the Android API for this is? This seems ripe for abuse if there’s really no way to nuke an app’s storage.